Jichael Mordan
Last year

Tryouts

I'm a junior domestic coach with reasonable experience both as a rep player back in the day and over the past 10 years coaching ages 8 to 14.

What completely amazes me is some of the decisions made by rep teams in their selection processes at tryouts. Yes of-course some kids will tryout better than others BUT having coached some of these kids for 3/4 years I’m curious why rep teams wouldn’t considering approaching the domestic clubs/coaches to ask a few questions especially given most rep coaches have tentacles into domestic land.

Before you start no I’m not the parent of either boy and have no vested interest in one over the other. My sole intent out of this is to try and understand how/what rep teams look for because I must be blind.

Thanks

Topic #51494 | Report this topic

Karma Basketball  
Last year

The perennial question. The conundrum of conundrums.

The answer you get till depend on who is giving it to you.

Most DOCs will publically say players are chosen on merit. That is true to some extent. However, what they deliberately fail to tell you is how they define "merit".

Most, if not all, Selection Panels will say the same thing as the DOC because it is in their interest to do so.

As for your particular situation, it depends on the two players you are talking about.

IME, players aren't competiting for a spot on the team per se. They are actually competiting for a spot for a particular position on a team. So, if there are several potential Point Guards, they will be competiting against each other for the limited PG positions. They would not be considered for other positions on the team.

During Tryouts, the smart players aren't looking to compete against everyone else at the Tryouts. They just look to compete against players of similar height, size, etc.