Manders
Earlier this month

Baseline Hoops and privacy issues with filming

Are Baseline Hoops and other content providers authorised / accredited by Basketball Victoria and / or Basketball Australia to attend games, video and then publish content? Do Baseline Hoops and other similar businesses seek permission from all parents of children they film? If so, is Basketball Victoria and Basketball Australia responsible for that content, that relates to children? This is a very interesting question for Basketball Victoria and Basketball Australia to consider, and perhaps for various regulators to also think through, including because of the comments that are attached to such videos on social media platforms.

Topic #51967 | Report this topic

DeepWombat  
Two weeks ago

I am no lawyer, but I think the decision to allow or not allow filming inside private properties like stadiums are at the discretion of the stadium owners and operators. In public spaces and in private spaces where filming is allowed, I don't believe that the photographer/videographer needs to get permission from parents of children filmed, under current Australian privacy laws.

BA/BV do require accreditation, or sometimes deny any filming at all, at some of their own events, in conjunction with the stadium operators.

Theoretically I suppose that BV could ask all VJBL stadium operators to deny filming at their venues, if they wanted to. I know certain associations have rules around filming with their venues for domestic comps.

Reply #941225 | Report this post

a5ian nbl fan  
Two weeks ago

I mean each player / team / club signs a VJBL form/waiver at the start of the year. Teams are suppose to the check with each other.

Baseline hoops do check off the higher teams they film.

But also for coaches some venues glory league and we don't have a say on that

Reply #941236 | Report this post

JT  
Two weeks ago

Please don't ban Baseline Hoops. How else would I know that random 14 year old is a BUCKET